Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

News:

Registration is only required if you want to post, and is not needed to read any posts. To avoid excess 'spam' accounts, all accounts where no posts have been made will be deleted after two weeks. Please register again if you wish to post.

Author Topic: Linux Fedora 31 Successful Install  (Read 26677 times)

January 01, 2020, 12:05:36 PM
  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Officer of the Watch Deck
    • View Profile
Most of this are taken from the "how to compile on mac or linux" which is within the source code
However the procedure is slightly different on the Fedora 31 distribution which I just installed on a second hand Dell Optiplex 780
On my equally antique laptop I get 3 to 6 frames per second on my windows 7 whereas on the fedora 28 boot on the same hardware then I am getting 26 fps

I used gitg to obtain the source code
https://github.com/bridgecommand/bc
This saved to my HOME_DIRECTORY/bc

To build on linux:
==================

1) Ensure the required library packages are installed with the following command in the terminal window:
Code: [Select]

sudo yum install mesa_libGL-devel libXxf86vm-devel freeglut-devel libXext-devel libXcursor-devel make g++



If you want sound support then do the steps at the end of this ...

In terminal screen and in the bc directory
Code: [Select]
make to compile Bridge Command

In terminal screen and in the bc directory
Code: [Select]
./bridgecommand to start the simulator.
Additional steps to compile with sound (for both Mac and Linux):
================================================================
Libsndfile:
Download and uncompress libsndfile-1.0.28.tar.gz from http://www.mega-nerd.com/libsndfile/files/libsndfile-1.0.28.tar.gz
Create a folder for the output, referred to as <Somewhere> (Absolute path)
Change directory to where you've uncompressed libsndfile, then run the following in the terminal window:

./configure --disable-shared --prefix=<Somewhere>
make
make install
cd <Somewhere>
cp -a lib <BridgeCommandSourceLocation>/libs/libsndfile/


Portaudio

Download and uncompress pa_stable_v190600_20161030.tgz from
Code: [Select]
http://www.portaudio.com/archives/pa_stable_v190600_20161030.tgzChange directory to where you've uncompressed Portaudio, then run the following in the terminal window:

./configure --disable-shared --enable-static
make
cd lib/.libs/
cp * <BridgeCommandSourceLocation>/libs/portaudio/lib/

Building Bridge Command with sound:
Change to where you have the Bridge Command source then run the following in the terminal window:

make -f MakefileWithSound
« Last Edit: January 02, 2020, 03:17:38 PM by elir71 »

January 01, 2020, 06:38:09 PM
Reply #1
  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Officer of the Watch Deck
    • View Profile
One bug that is bugging me, is that when I try to set up multiscreen, when I try to type the secondary computers hostnames into the edit box, then it is not accepting any text input.  Does anyone have any ideas about this ?

ADDENDUM :-

I seem to be able to type in secondary hostnames when I run the master as sudo i..e

Code: [Select]
sudo ./bridgecommand

Ths assumes that your local user is sudo enabled
« Last Edit: January 02, 2020, 03:09:31 PM by elir71 »

January 02, 2020, 03:48:08 PM
Reply #2
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Hi, I'm not sure why it isn't accepting input in the hostname box. Is it looking 'normal' (i.e. a white box, large enough for a single line of text)?

As a workaround, you should be able to create/edit the file hostname.txt in the user directory (if on linux, this will be ~/.Bridge Command/5.4/hostname.txt), and edit this to have the single line:
Code: [Select]
hostname=YourHostNameHere
This will set the default string to go in the hostname box, so you don't need to type it in.

January 03, 2020, 07:58:15 AM
Reply #3
  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Officer of the Watch Deck
    • View Profile
Yes it looks normal

Would this be the place to enter your own host name , or the other secondary host names ?

I am wondering where the best install directory would be for bc , so that it can be used by any user but personalised to their own $HOME/.Bridgecommand/ folder
« Last Edit: January 03, 2020, 10:19:58 AM by elir71 »

January 07, 2020, 06:55:23 PM
Reply #4
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Hi, this is the place to enter the other secondary host names.

I'll reply separately about the installation directories, it's something I looked into while building the .deb packages.

January 07, 2020, 07:20:33 PM
Reply #5
  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
For a proper linux install, the files need to go in a variety of places, and we need to compile with the FOR_DEB flag (so it looks in the right place for the program assets and language files). The easiest way of doing this is probably to replicate the makefile changes in commit https://github.com/bridgecommand/bc/commit/4ed5a3867d10e7fd3c96dc788fc2152fbb9335f7

Then, after building, the files go in the following locations:

Binaries in /usr/bin/

All of the following in /usr/share/bridgecommand:
bc5.ini                     languageRepeater-en.txt  repeater.ini
Icon.ico                    LICENSE.txt              Scenarios
languageController-en.txt   map.ini                  shaders
language-en.txt             media                    Sounds
languageIniEditor-en.txt    Models                   tidalData.m
languageLauncher-en.txt     mph.ini                  World
languageMultiplayer-en.txt  README

The contents of the doc folder in /usr/share/doc/bridgecommand

(You can also create a launcher in /usr/share/applications, and icons in /usr/share/icons, but this is optional)

This is how the installation is structured for the .deb, and it will use "~/.Bridge Command" to store users' settings, as well as their own scenarions, ship or world models.

March 26, 2020, 08:43:01 AM
Reply #6
  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Officer of the Watch Deck
    • View Profile
Trying to compile 5.4.5 this morning following errors

In file included from Network.cpp:17
Network.hpp:23:10: fatal error: enetzenet.h: No such file or directory
23 |  #include <enet\enet.h>
compilation terminated

similar for calls from NetworkPrimary and NetworkSecondary

March 26, 2020, 02:17:17 PM
Reply #7
  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Officer of the Watch Deck
    • View Profile
Ive gone into bc/libs/enet

$ autoreconf -vfi

autoreconf: 'configure.ac' or 'configure.in' is required


March 26, 2020, 04:30:36 PM
Reply #8
  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Officer of the Watch Deck
    • View Profile
sudo dnf install automake
sudo dnf install libtool
autoreconf -vfi
su
./configure && make && make install

still no joy