Bridge Command Forum

Support => Feature requests & suggestions => Topic started by: bradza on April 11, 2014, 03:01:04 PM

Title: AIS input and Google Earth?
Post by: bradza on April 11, 2014, 03:01:04 PM
Hi there,

Is there any possibility of bringing in AIS to display in realtime in the sim? With the amount of AIS tracking sites out there, there is a lot of data available, one site is marinetraffic.com but there are a few.

It would be great to perform simulations with realtime shipping positions through AIS. Perhaps a standard model for cargo, tanker and/or passenger liner could be selected with the values given by the API data?

Thanks.
Regards
Brad
Title: Re: AIS input and Google Earth?
Post by: forum_admin on April 14, 2014, 08:14:50 PM
Hi, that's certainly an interesting idea, I'll have a think about how it might be implemented.
Title: Re: AIS input and Google Earth?
Post by: j85 on April 21, 2014, 10:29:38 AM
AIS input and output. I'm interested in output to chart-plotter. If That can be done for GPS simulation also then for AIS. OpenCPN (http://opencpn.org) has AIS NMEA sentences capability according to OpenCPN User Manual (help_en_US.html#NMEASentences). I have OpenCPN 3.2.2 on at least one of my computers.
Title: Re: AIS input and Google Earth?
Post by: forum_admin on June 18, 2014, 02:58:52 PM
I will certainly look into this. It should be relatively simple to construct AIS data for the ships in the simulation, and send this to a chart plotter.
Title: Re: AIS input and Google Earth?
Post by: bradza on July 06, 2014, 06:20:51 PM
That will be great, looking forward to it!  :)
Title: Re: AIS input and Google Earth?
Post by: Laro88 on December 03, 2018, 08:34:54 AM
AIS input would be fun - NMEA input handling for some of the online AIS sources would be interesting.
Title: Re: AIS input and Google Earth?
Post by: elir71 on April 05, 2019, 03:50:53 PM
I wrote some experimental code to create AIS signals for ships ... which could be used as other ships, so that they would be visible to openCPN chart plotter.  The AIS transmissions use a 6 bit format. The code was very very bodgy and I am certain it could be done more elegantly. I will try to dig it out and post it